Fate - First Reply Sunshine, and All That Brings Happiness

A 1x1 Roleplay where the first writer to respond can join

Maxi Ardune

The Brother Unburied
Character Biography
Link
Across the rugged and rocky badlands, north of the Baal-Duru River, they walked. Their reward awaited them in Annuakat.

"I'm actually new at this myself," said Ashara Yonnel admitted, demurely rubbing the back of her neck as they went.

Maxi just smiled. Looked back to her and said, "Ahhh, can't be. You're pulling my leg. You're way too good of a shot to be new. You could teach me some things. The Six know I could use it."

"My Pa was a great hunter," Ashara said, blushing still. "He'd stalk herds of addax for days. It's easy to do that along the lush riverbanks of the Baal-Duru, but out in the open deserts? Phew! You really need your one shot to count."

"He taught you well."

"He did, Maxi, he did."

Both Maxi and Ashara had answered the call of a young Annuakat nobleman. He had been looking for someone to take care of some dirty work, retrieving a heirloom amulet that he, in a drunken haze, had sold off to some shady nomads for coppers on the gold coin. As the nobleman had anticipated, the nomads weren't willing to sell it back. So Maxi and Ashara had gotten into a scrap with them and took back the nobleman's property. The job would've been very difficult, if not impossible, for either of them to do alone. But together, success was theirs.

"Your Pa still around?"

"He is," Ashara said. "He lives in Annuakat, and...well, there's quite a few days where I go to him to have a roof over my head."

Maxi was going to mention perhaps meeting him, learning archery from him too, and he still had a mind to do so. But Ashara hit on something a bit nearer and dearer to him: the struggle to make ends meet. Still he smiled, spoke with the tone of a cool breeze on a hot day, "Everything doesn't always go as smoothly as this mission, huh?"